Navigation on this site is not optimized for your browser

Please use a recent version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari or Microsoft Edge to get the most out of the experience.

Find a modern browser
Belgium is Design - The gift to be simple

Belgium is Design
The gift to be simple

Category: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 08-19.03.2023

On the occasion of Collectible fair we present in Brussels The gift to be simple, the exhibition conceived for the New York Textile Month 2022 festival.

The gift to be simple © Laetitia Bica

A great opportunity to give a second life to this textile design exhibition curated by Lidewij Edelkoort and Philip Fimmano, which is particularly close to our hearts, and an additional spotlight on Natalia Brilli, Emma Cogné, Laure Kasiers, Charlotte Lancelot, Geneviève Levivier, Céline Vahsen, Alexia de Ville, Vanessa Colignon and Pascale Risbourg.

She will be hosted by Jean-François Declercq in the beautiful house known as Atelier Jespers.
Collector, curator, art patron and donor, Jean-François Declercq founded Atelier Jespers in 2015, a non-profit art center, in the modernist house-workshop he occupies. Designed by Victor Bourgeois for sculptor Oscar Jespers in 1928, the venue’s exceptional architecture is ideal for highlighting contemporary collectible design and other forms of expression. In a short time, Atelier Jespers has established itself as a key player in the Brussels cultural landscape, providing a platform for emerging and established designers.

As a trendsetter, Ms. Edelkoort has observed for many years that “in chaotic and frightening times, humanity naturally seeks answers and finds solace in simplicity. People try to make the ordinary extraordinary. In addition, as many people have moved to rural areas during the pandemic, a more authentic approach is also having an impact on interiors, fashion and lifestyle.

Through the textile works of 9 talented women, the exhibition explores the sobriety of Belgian design and its correlation with a more refined aesthetic: discovering excellence in everyday objects. This philosophy is amplified by furniture from the manufacturer Atmosphere & Bois Home, made from reclaimed wood.

With :
Alexia De Ville
Céline Vahsen
Charlotte Lancelot
Design For Resilience by Vanessa Colignon
Emma Cogné
Geneviève Levivier
Laure Kasiers
Natalia Brilli
Pascale Risbourg

Infos pratiques

From March 8 to 19, 2023
Atelier Jespers
Rue du Prince Héritier, 149 – 1200 Brussels
From 11am to 5pm and by appointment

Promoting Creative Minds

This website uses cookies
We use cookies and similar techonologies to adjust your preferences, analyze traffic and measure the effectiveness of campaigns. You consent to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse this website.
Show Details
Name Description
Google Analytics Cookie from Google Analytics allows us to anonymously count visits, the sources of these visits as well as the actions taken on the site by visitors.
Google Tag Manager Cookie from Google Tag Manager allows us to set up and manage the sending of data to the various analysis services listed below (e.g. Google Analytics)
Name Description
epic-cookie-prefs Cookie that remembers the user's choice of cookie preferences
pll_language The server records the language chosen by the user to display the correct version of the pages

La navigation sur ce site n'est pas optimisée pour votre navigateur

Veuillez utiliser une version récente de Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari ou Microsoft Edge pour profiter au mieux de l'expérience.

Trouver un navigateur moderne
Belgium is Design - The gift to be simple

Belgium is Design
The gift to be simple

Categorie: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 08-19.03.2023

À l’occasion du salon Collectible nous présentons à Bruxelles The gift to be simple, l’exposition de design textile conçue pour le Festival New York Textile Month 2022. 

The gift to be simple © Laetitia Bica

Une belle occasion d’offrir une seconde vie à ce cette exposition de design textile conçue par Lidewij Edelkoort et Philip Fimmano qui nous tient particulièrement à cœur et une visibilité supplémentaire à Natalia Brilli, Emma Cogné, Laure Kasiers, Charlotte Lancelot, Geneviève Levivier, Céline Vahsen, Alexia de Ville, Vanessa Colignon et Pascale Risbourg : les 9 designers de cette sélection.

Elle sera accueillie par Jean-François Declercq dans la magnifique maison connue sous le nom d’Atelier Jespers.
Collectionneur, curateur, mécène et donateur, Jean-François Declercq fonde l’Atelier Jespers en 2015, un centre d’art à but non lucratif, dans la maison-atelier moderniste qu’il occupe. Conçue par Victor Bourgeois pour le sculpteur Oscar Jespers en 1928, l’architecture exceptionnelle du lieu est idéale pour mettre en lumière le design de collection contemporain et d’autres formes d’expression. En peu de temps, Atelier Jespers s’est imposé comme un incontournable du paysage culturel bruxellois en donnant la voie à des designers émergents et confirmés.

En tant que spécialiste des tendances, Madame Edelkoort observe depuis plusieurs années que “dans les périodes chaotiques et effrayantes, l’humanité cherche naturellement des réponses et trouve du réconfort dans la simplicité. Les personnes essaient de rendre l’ordinaire extraordinaire”. De plus, comme de nombreuses personnes se sont déplacées vers des régions rurales pendant la pandémie, une approche plus authentique a également un impact sur les intérieurs, la mode et le style de vie.

À travers les œuvres textiles de 9 femmes talentueuses, l’exposition explore la sobriété du design belge et sa corrélation avec une esthétique plus épurée : découvrir l’excellence dans les objets du quotidien. Cette philosophie est amplifiée par des meubles du fabricant Atmosphère & Bois Home, fabriqués à partir de bois récupérés.

Avec :
Alexia De Ville
Céline Vahsen
Charlotte Lancelot
Design For Resilience, Vanessa Colignon
Emma Cogné
Geneviève Levivier
Laure Kasiers
Natalia Brilli
Pascale Risbourg

Infos pratiques

Du 8 au 19 mars 2023
Atelier Jespers
Rue du Prince Héritier, 149 – 1200 Bruxelles
De 11h à 17h et sur RDV

Promoting Creative Minds

Ce site utilise des cookies
Nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies similaires pour ajuster vos préférences, analyser le trafic et mesurer l’efficacité de nos campagnes. Vous consentez à l’utilisation de nos cookies en continuant à naviguer sur ce site.
Plus de détails
Nom Description
Google Analytics Cookie de Google Analytics nous permet de comptabiliser de manière anonyme les visites, les sources de ces visites ainsi que les actions réalisées sur le site par les visiteurs.
Google Tag Manager Cookie de Google Tag Manager nous permet de mettre en place et gérer l’envoi des données vers les différents services d’analyse repris ci-dessous (ex.: Google Analytics)
Nom Description
epic-cookie-prefs Cookie qui garde en mémoire le choix de l'utilisateur pour ses préférences cookies
pll_language Le serveur enregistre la langue choisie par l'utilisateur pour afficher la bonne version des pages