Navigation on this site is not optimized for your browser

Please use a recent version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari or Microsoft Edge to get the most out of the experience.

Find a modern browser
Belgium is Design / New York Textile Month 2022

Belgium is Design
New York Textile Month 2022

Category: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 02-10.10.2022

After Textiles Revealed in 2019, WBDM is organising a new contemporary textile design exhibition,The Gift To Be Simple, curated by Lidewij Edelkoort and Philip Fimmano as part of the 7th annual New York Textile Month. The show investigates the straightforwardness of Belgian design and how it correlates to a more sober aesthetic today.

Lidewij Edelkoort & Philip Fimmano

Initiated by Lidewij Edelkoort, founder of MFA Textiles at Parsons the New School, this multi-location event will bring together all voices and expressions about textiles, bringing together museums, galleries, showrooms, retailers, designers, artists, design studios, students and the general public.

As a trend forecaster, Edelkoort has been observing the emergence of paired-back design for several years, noting that “In chaotic and fearful times, humanity will naturally look for answers and find solace in simplicity. People are trying to make the ordinary extraordinary.” Additionally, with many people relocating to rural regions during the pandemic, a more rustic approach is also impacting interiors, fashion and lifestyle.

Through the textile-based works of 9 talented women, the show investigates the straightforwardness of Belgian design and how it correlates to a more sober aesthetic today: discovering excellence in everyday items. This ethos is amplified by purist furniture from the manufacturer Atmosphère & Bois Home, partly fabricated from reclaimed woods.

The textile creations exhibited will be of various types: installations, tapestries, carpets, table and household linen, but also wallpaper.

Exhibition The Gift To Be Simple by Belgium is Design, with:

Alexia De Ville
Céline Vahsen 
Charlotte Lancelot
Design For Resilience, Vanessa Colignon
Emma Cogné
Geneviève Levivier
Laure Kasiers
Natalia Brilli
Pascale Risbourg

More info

From 29.09 to 10.10.2022

138 Wooster Street, New York

Belgium is Design

NYTM

Expo 2019: Textiles Revealed

Promoting Creative Minds

This website uses cookies
We use cookies and similar techonologies to adjust your preferences, analyze traffic and measure the effectiveness of campaigns. You consent to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse this website.
Show Details
Name Description
Google Analytics Cookie from Google Analytics allows us to anonymously count visits, the sources of these visits as well as the actions taken on the site by visitors.
Google Tag Manager Cookie from Google Tag Manager allows us to set up and manage the sending of data to the various analysis services listed below (e.g. Google Analytics)
Name Description
epic-cookie-prefs Cookie that remembers the user's choice of cookie preferences
pll_language The server records the language chosen by the user to display the correct version of the pages

La navigation sur ce site n'est pas optimisée pour votre navigateur

Veuillez utiliser une version récente de Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari ou Microsoft Edge pour profiter au mieux de l'expérience.

Trouver un navigateur moderne
Belgium is Design / New York Textile Month 2022

Belgium is Design
New York Textile Month 2022

Categorie: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 02-10.10.2022

Après Textiles Revealed en 2019, WBDM organise une nouvelle exposition de design textile contemporain, The Gift To Be Simple, conçue par Lidewij Edelkoort et Philip Fimmano dans le cadre de la 7ème édition du festival New York Textile Month. L’exposition explore la sobriété du design belge et sa corrélation avec une esthétique plus épurée aujourd’hui.

Lidewij Edelkoort & Philip Fimmano

Le New York Textile Month a été créé en 2016 par Lidewij Edelkoort pour étudier et célébrer les textiles créatifs. Cet événement, qui se déroule dans plusieurs lieux, rassemble toutes les voix et expressions concernant les textiles, en réunissant des musées, des galeries, des salles d’exposition, des détaillants, des designers, des artistes, des studios de design, des étudiants et le grand public.

En tant que spécialiste des tendances, Madame Edelkoort observe depuis plusieurs années que “dans les périodes chaotiques et effrayantes, l’humanité cherche naturellement des réponses et trouve du réconfort dans la simplicité. Les personnes essaient de rendre l’ordinaire extraordinaire”. De plus, comme de nombreuses personnes se sont déplacées vers des régions rurales pendant la pandémie, une approche plus authentique a également un impact sur les intérieurs, la mode et le style de vie.

À travers les œuvres textiles de 9 femmes talentueuses, le spectacle explore la rectitude du design belge et sa corrélation avec une esthétique plus sobre aujourd’hui : découvrir l’excellence dans les objets du quotidien. Cette philosophie est amplifiée par des meubles puristes du fabricant Atmosphère & Bois Home, fabriqués en partie à partir de bois récupérés.

Les créations textiles exposées seront de différentes typologie : des installations, des tapisseries, des tapis, du linge de table et de maison, mais aussi du papier peint.

Exposition de Belgium is Design: The Gift to be Simple.

Avec :
Alexia De Ville
Céline Vahsen 
Charlotte Lancelot
Design For Resilience, Vanessa Colignon
Emma Cogné
Geneviève Levivier
Laure Kasiers
Natalia Brilli
Pascale Risbourg

Plus d'infos

L’appel à candidatures est clôturé.

Exposition du 29/09 au 10/10/2022, 138 Wooster Street, New York.

Belgium is Design

NYTM

Expo 2019: Textiles Revealed

Promoting Creative Minds

Ce site utilise des cookies
Nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies similaires pour ajuster vos préférences, analyser le trafic et mesurer l’efficacité de nos campagnes. Vous consentez à l’utilisation de nos cookies en continuant à naviguer sur ce site.
Plus de détails
Nom Description
Google Analytics Cookie de Google Analytics nous permet de comptabiliser de manière anonyme les visites, les sources de ces visites ainsi que les actions réalisées sur le site par les visiteurs.
Google Tag Manager Cookie de Google Tag Manager nous permet de mettre en place et gérer l’envoi des données vers les différents services d’analyse repris ci-dessous (ex.: Google Analytics)
Nom Description
epic-cookie-prefs Cookie qui garde en mémoire le choix de l'utilisateur pour ses préférences cookies
pll_language Le serveur enregistre la langue choisie par l'utilisateur pour afficher la bonne version des pages