Navigation on this site is not optimized for your browser

Please use a recent version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari or Microsoft Edge to get the most out of the experience.

Find a modern browser
Belgian Fashion Awards 2021

Belgian Fashion Awards 2021

Category: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 25.11.21
Nicolas Di Felice et Christian Wijnants, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

On 25 November 2021, Flanders DC, in collaboration with Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode, MAD-Home of Creators and Knack / Le Vif Weekend, organised the fourth edition of the Belgian Fashion Awards (BFA 2021) as part of the Fashion Talks 2021 in Antwerp.

Chris Dercon et Walter Van Beirendonck, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

The Belgian Fashion Awards, now in their fourth year, were launched with the aim of highlighting the reputation, creativity and diversity of Belgian fashion, both in our country and internationally. Through these awards, we also want to give visibility to those who work behind the scenes and offer a platform to lesser-known names, as well as to emerging talents.

The prizes were awarded in seven categories during the Fashion Talks at the Handelsbeurs in Antwerp. Here are the winners:

This year’s Jury Prize goes to fashion designer Walter Van Beirendonck. The international jury praised the Belgian designer for his influential and social contributions that he translates into his designs. His influence extends across generations. ‘Walter Van Beirendonck appeals to an international audience. In particular, his designs give his views on politics, gender, and equality a voice even in Covid times. He was present more than ever before on the international scene in the last two years,’ concluded the jury’s verdict.

The Designer of the Year award goes to the 38-year-old Nicolas di Felice, the new man at French fashion house Courrèges. After graduating from the La Cambre in Brussels, he gained experience under Nicolas Ghesquière at Balenciaga and Louis Vuitton. His first autumn-winter collection was met with international applause. The jury praised him for the ‘unlikely and brave work he has done over the last two years. It’s not easy to take over a fashion house that has a strong imprint and give it your own flair.

Typh Barrow et Benoit Berthume, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

Belgian art director, stylist and photographer Benoît Bethume was awarded the Professional of the Year prize. ‘In addition to his creative contribution, he is one of the rare critical voices in the fashion industry,’ the jury said.

A Changemaker from the fashion industry will also be celebrated for the first time. This category was created to give a voice to someone who influences the industry in an innovative way. This honour was given to Resortecs. The young Brussels-based company looks to contribute to a world in need of innovative solutions. They do this by taking an industrial approach to the recycling process, which includes the development of a high-tech easy-to-recycle yarn.

And young fashion designer Meryll Rogge received the Emerging Talent of the Year award because of her aesthetic and challenging way of working. The jury’s decision was unanimous: ‘It’s been a long time since we’ve seen such a success story for someone so young. Not only does she already have a distinct style, she continues to challenge herself.’ In addition to a €5,000 prize, the Fashion & Lace Museum of Brussels is purchasing a silhouette of her for their permanent collection. 

Lili Schreiber, who received her master’s degree from the Brussels institute La Cambre earlier this year, is awarded the prize for Promising Graduate.

The Liège fashion brand Imprévu, founded by Justine God in 2016, walked away with the Audience Award for Fashion Brand of the Year.

And finally, fashion label Bernadette wins the UPR award from the eponymous PR and communications agency. They can count on their professional assistance for one year.


This year, the international jury was made up of :

Chris Dercon (BE), President of the Réunion des musées nationaux-Grand Palais in Paris

Giancarlo Angeletti (BE), founder and owner of VIER in Antwerp

Vena Brykalin (UA), Editor-in-Chief of Vogue Ukraine

Serge Carreira, Head of the Emerging Brands Initiative, Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode (FR)

Eve Demoen (BE), curator of the Modemuseum in Hasselt

Elisa De Wyngaert (BE), curator of the MOMU in Antwerp

Angelo Flaccavento (IT), freelance fashion journalist for Business of Fasion

Catherine Gauthier (BE), curator of the Fashion & Lace Museum in Brussels

Alex Keller (DE), former CEO of Jil Sander, commercial director at Balenciaga and Martin Margiela

Christopher Morency (CAN), editor-in-chief of HighSnobiety

Pascale Mussard (FR), President of the Hyères Festival

Guillaume Steinmetz (FR), founder of The Broken Arm, Paris

Marie-Hélène Vanderborght (BE), journalist at C’est du Belge, RTBF

Christian Wijnants (BE), fashion designer and winner of the BFA Designer of the Year in 2019

In partnership with

The event is organised in collaboration with Knack Weekend/Le Vif Weekend, Flanders DC, MAD – Home of Creators.

Press kit

Promoting Creative Minds

This website uses cookies
We use cookies and similar techonologies to adjust your preferences, analyze traffic and measure the effectiveness of campaigns. You consent to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse this website.
Show Details
Name Description
Google Analytics Cookie from Google Analytics allows us to anonymously count visits, the sources of these visits as well as the actions taken on the site by visitors.
Name Description
Google Tag Manager Cookie from Google Tag Manager allows us to set up and manage the sending of data to Google Analytics.

La navigation sur ce site n'est pas optimisée pour votre navigateur

Veuillez utiliser une version récente de Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Safari ou Microsoft Edge pour profiter au mieux de l'expérience.

Trouver un navigateur moderne
Belgian Fashion Awards 2021

Belgian Fashion Awards 2021

Categorie: EVENT
Date de l'événement: 25.11.21
Nicolas Di Felice et Christian Wijnants, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

Le 25 novembre 2021, Flanders DC a organisé, en collaboration avec Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode, MAD-Home of Creators et Knack / Le Vif Weekend, la quatrième édition des Belgian Fashion Awards (BFA 2021), dans le cadre des Fashion Talks 2021 à Anvers.

Chris Dercon et Walter Van Beirendonck, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

Les Belgian Fashion Awards, qui en sont à leur quatrième édition, ont été lancés dans le but de mettre en avant la notoriété, la créativité et la diversité de la mode belge, tant dans notre pays qu’à l’international. A travers ces prix, nous entendons également accorder une visibilité à ceux qui travaillent en coulisses et offrir un podium à des noms moins connus, ainsi qu’à des talents émergents.

Les prix ont été décernés dans sept catégories lors des Fashion Talks au Handelsbeurs d’Anvers. Voici les lauréats :

Cette année, le Jury Prize a été attribué au créateur de mode Walter Van Beirendonck. Le jury international a félicité le créateur belge pour les contributions influentes et sociales qu’il traduit dans ses créations. Son influence s’étend sur plusieurs générations. « Walter Van Beirendonck s’adresse à un public international. Il a particulièrement réussi à exprimer ses opinions sur la politique, le genre et l’égalité à travers ses créations, même durant la crise du coronavirus. Ces deux dernières années, il a plus que jamais été présent sur la scène internationale », a déclaré le jury.

Le prix du Designer of the Year est revenu à Nicolas di Felice, un Belge de 38 ans, le nouveau directeur artistique de la maison de couture française Courrèges. Après ses études à La Cambre à Bruxelles, il s’est enrichi de l’expérience de Nicolas Ghesquière chez Balenciaga et Louis Vuitton. Sa première collection automne-hiver a été acclamée par la communauté internationale. Le jury l’a félicité pour le « travail incroyable et courageux qu’il a accompli au cours des deux dernières années. Il n’est en effet pas simple de reprendre une maison possédant un tel cachet et de lui donner sa propre touche. »

Typh Barrow et Benoit Berthume, Belgian Fashion Awards 2021 © J. Van Belle (WBI)

Le directeur artistique, styliste et photographe belge Benoît Bethume a quant à lui remporté le prix du Professional of the Year. « En plus de sa contribution créative, il représente l’une des rares voix critiques du secteur de la mode », a déclaré le jury.

Pour la première fois, un Changemaker du secteur de la mode a également été mis à l’honneur. Cette catégorie a été créée afin de donner la parole à une personne ou une entité qui influence le secteur de façon innovante. Et c’est Resortecs qui a mérité ce prix. Cette jeune entreprise bruxelloise tente d’apporter sa contribution à un monde qui a besoin de solutions innovantes. Pour ce faire, ils adoptent une approche industrielle du procédé de recyclage, notamment en mettant au point un fil de haute technologie facile à recycler.

La jeune créatrice de mode Meryll Rogge a reçu le prix de l’Emerging Talent of the Year, en reconnaissance du caractère esthétique et provocant de son travail. Le verdict du jury a été unanime : « Cela faisait longtemps que nous n’avions pas vu une telle réussite chez une personne aussi jeune. Elle possède non seulement déjà une signature claire, mais elle continue à se lancer des défis. » En plus d’un prix en espèces de 5 000 euros, le musée Mode & Dentelle de Bruxelles achète l’une de ses silhouettes pour sa collection permanente. 

Lili Schreiber, qui a obtenu cette année son master à l’institut bruxellois La Cambre, a obtenu le prix du Most Promising Graduate

Le prix du public pour la Fashion brand of the Year a été attribué à la marque de mode liégeoise Imprévu, fondée par Justine God en 2016. 

Enfin, la marque de mode Bernadette a remporté le prix UPR, de l’agence de relations publiques et de communication du même nom. La marque pourra compter sur leur soutien professionnel pendant un an.


Cette année, le jury international était constitué de :

Chris Dercon (BE), président de la Réunion des musées nationaux-Grand Palais de Paris

Giancarlo Angeletti (BE), fondateur et propriétaire de VIER à Anvers

Vena Brykalin (UA), rédacteur en chef de Vogue Ukraine

Serge Carreira, responsable de l’Initiative Marques Émergentes, Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode (FR)

Eve Demoen (BE), curatrice du Modemuseum d’Hasselt

Elisa De Wyngaert (BE), curatrice du MOMU d’Anvers

Angelo Flaccavento (IT), journaliste mode freelance notamment pour Business of Fasion

Catherine Gauthier (BE), curatrice du musée Mode & Dentelle de Bruxelles

Alex Keller (DE), ancien CEO de Jil Sander, directeur commercial chez Balenciaga et Martin Margiela

Christopher Morency (CAN), rédacteur en chef du HighSnobiety

Pascale Mussard (FR), président du Festival de Hyères

Guillaume Steinmetz (FR), fondateur de The Broken Arm, Paris

Marie-Hélène Vanderborght (BE), journaliste à C’est du Belge, RTBF

Christian Wijnants (BE), créateur de mode et gagnant du BFA Designer of the Year en 2019

En partenariat avec

L’évènement est organisé en collaboration avec Knack Weekend/Le Vif Weekend, Flanders DC, MAD – Home of Creators.

Dossier de presse

Promoting Creative Minds

Ce site utilise des cookies
Nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies similaires pour ajuster vos préférences, analyser le trafic et mesurer l’efficacité de nos campagnes. Vous consentez à l’utilisation de nos cookies en continuant à naviguer sur ce site.
Plus de détails
Nom Description
Google Analytics Cookie de Google Analytics nous permet de comptabiliser de manière anonyme les visites, les sources de ces visites ainsi que les actions réalisées sur le site par les visiteurs.
Nom Description
Google Tag Manager Cookie de Google Tag Manager nous permet de mettre en place et gérer l'envoi des données sur Google Analytics.